Dirty Hands Make Clean Lugs

IMG_2258

 

 

 

I’ve started work on the first bike to built completely in my new shop. It is shaping up to be an interesting and challenging project. The owner of this future bike, Bruce from Dallas,Tx has a certain nostalgia for 70’s Raleigh Professionals. But he wanted an updated version, a bike that reflected the elegance and spirit of these older bikes but with modern materials and sensibility. To achieve this we went straight for Reynolds 953 Stainless tubing in oversize diameters and opted for a single speed drive train for simplicity and clean lines.

After designing the frame geometry, the first physical step is to shape the lugs. I wanted to make the lugs look as similar to the Raleigh Pro. I liked their long points and simple lines. Nothing ostentatious or unnecessary. I started with Pacenti Artisan Lugs in stainless. They are know for having ample material to allow shaping and carving.

Shaping and carving stainless is not easy. As you can see in the photos below, I first removed a lot of material and got the general shape I wanted. I then thinned the lugs. I usually do this after the frame is brazed but I thought I would try it out doing it first especially as the stainless is much tougher and I knew I was going to have to put some force into the files and didn’t wanted to hit the tubes if I had brazed it first. I have a feeling it will braze up nicer, but I’ll let you know shortly.

Ok, here are some pics. First one is a Raleigh I am basing the lugs off of.

74_raleigh_pro_view5b

1974 Raleigh Professional

 

 Pacenti Artisan Lugs

Pacenti Artisan Lugs

 

 

IMG_2236 IMG_2237 IMG_2239

IMG_2250

IMG_2253

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

