A short update

Hi folks,

Sorry for ignoring this space for the last couple of months. As I had previously mentioned back in September, my mom had been going through cancer treatment for some time. Since returning from Europe her condition has unfortunately gotten a lot worse. Bikes have been on the back burner  since the Texas frame builders show back in October, as I have been spending more time helping her and my family and visiting with guests and relatives that come to see her.

That said, I have not completely been ignoring the workshop, though working at a much slower pace than normal. I have been working on a stainless lugged cross/commuter bike with couplers and disc brakes. The frame is nearly done, just a few braze-ons and then the fork and racks. Once it is a cleaned up  a bit, I will have some pics up. And I will mention that I am very excited about this frame and pleased with how it is turning out.

I have also had a photo shoot with Nick Prendergast, and now waiting for web wonder boy Jared to add them to the main website. And I have written and sent off my PBP article to Bicycle Times. Hopefully it meets their standards and gets printed. Additionally I have signed up for NAHBS in Sacremento, but now need to figure how the hell I will get there with a bunch of bikes.

One of the bikes I will be taking is the bike I built for myself to ride in PBP. It is a stainless 650b classic randonneur style bike with couplers. I have not been able to post any pictures till now because I finished it 2 days before I left for my trip and then I left my camera in Glasgow, where I spent a week after Paris. I have now received my camera, and let’s just say its not a good idea to leave your camera in the possession of old haggard Scottish bicycle messengers. I had to spend a lot of time deleting photos.

Here is a couple pics of my PBP bike in Paris the day after the event. I had no time for clean up before the trip, but have since done quite a lot of cleaning and even though it is stainless(the fork isn’t, hence the surface rust), it will get a lick of paint before NAHBS. There are also a couple PBP pics that I took and some that my friend Jeff Newberry sent to me. Image

 

 

Image

"Galluis" French for Gallus

 

 

Image

Image

Good ol' sleep deprivation

Image

My friend Jeff Newberry somewhere in the French country side

Leave a Reply

